Train station

He said, “If I was brave enough, I would have walked away from this. I would have opened that door and ventured off into an adventure. Travel to places and people unknown and re-discover things anew. If I were willing enough, I won’t stop realizing a different purpose or creating different dreams. I would have taken risks, celebrate failures and continue learning. I would have gone and let life surprise me. I would have gone with you.”

And she replied, “Why didn’t you?”

He looked at her and said, “Life had a funny way of putting me where I belong. Oh I did opened a door, just not the one I imagined it to be. Everyday is an adventure. I need not go to places to discover people and things. I’ve realized that purpose can be lived where you are. I have taken my set of risks. Failed again and again but learned, I did. I’ve learned to live with my cowardice. Life has been different but you learn to live with what you have.”

She looked at him for the last time as the train pulls away. She thought, “What a sad life…for not taking the opportunity to be better when one had the chance.”

Leave a Reply

