When goodbye is for real

“Life is a series of natural and spontaneous changes. Don’t resist them; that only creates sorrow. Let reality be reality. Let things flow naturally forward in whatever way they like.” – Lao Tzu

Parting ways is inevitable in most relationships. May it be a toy to a child growing up, in friendship, a love lost, an old job or in death. We say goodbye to a lot of things and people. Some we are ecstatic to let go while some we desperately try to hold on to. Sometimes, we get chances to have or see them again. Sometimes, we don’t.

So how does one deal when a goodbye is for real?

I asked myself this today when I found out that a certain relationship I have has now officially ended. No words uttered, just a silent indication signifying that I am no longer needed. I guess I was secretly hoping that things will just continue on as they are. I didn’t realize that this parting of ways will cause a little sadness.

Moving on will not happen overnight but I’ll take what I can from this experience. And learn to let go those that I should.

In this lifetime, there will be a lot of goodbyes but there will also be a lot of hellos. And they too can also be real.

2 thoughts on “When goodbye is for real

Leave a Reply

