Here is a heart

Here is a heart longing for the touch of your hand and the smell of your hair. I was looking shyly in your eyes, amazed by your innocence. Can I hold you? May I have a dance?

Some days, I spent time worrying about you. If you’re dealing well with life. But then I’ll remember the things you said and the missions you need to do and I calmly let a breath out and smile.

Here is a heart wandering and wondering. I have taken many roads and have more to go. Most days, I question if I am worthy of this adventure. I see the fields of gold and the snow-covered mountains and I know I am.

I see her face in the places I’ve been. Is she safe? Is she happy? But then I’ll remember the sound of her voice and the things she said as I bid her farewell. She said, “Son, follow your heart and your dreams. If need be, take many roads for I know one of them will somehow lead you back to me. In a memory, in a dream and I hope one day, right in my doorstep.”

Here is a heart waiting, loving.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humor and courgettes

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Bipolar Writer

James Edgar Skye

